Daily Archives: May 4, 2009

Weekend Recap/Week in Preview

The weekend that was:

It was a busy one.

The week in preview:

It’s going to be a busy one. LIFE Group, Youth Ministry Fellowship tomorrow, building ministry team meeting, Youth Group, day off, d-group retreat this weekend.

What else?

I am finishing up my reading through Romans this week. Here’s a phrase that I’m learning to love to hate: “If I were going to take this verse seriously, I…” Why? Because it challenges me. This statement forces me to move past information and transformation. Te phrase begs the question, “Do I take scripture seriously? Why? Why not?” Almost daily over the past week, I’ve come face to face with my poor treatment of others. Last night, I read from 1 Corinthians 13:4-8a.

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.”

I read this list and am so disheartened. If I were to take these verses seriously, I would be a completely different person than the one I am today. Over the past week, I’ve been listening to the new Jars of Clay (now owned legally, btw); one of the songs, “Weapons” has really spoken to me. The chorus is:
“Lay your weapons down
Lay your weapons down
There are no enemies in front of you”

No enemies in front of me? Right. I have enemies all around.

What does that say about my relationship with God? With others? What does it say about the work of the Holy Spirit within me?

1 Comment

Filed under 1 corinthians 13, crazy love, jars of clay, romans, urban plunge, youth ministry fellowship