Stockholm Syndrome

Yesterday, a friend of mine posted the following video on his Facebook page-

As I watched this video, I experienced a number of emotions: anger, sadness, bitterness, and one thought that kept rising to the top. “Louis Farrakhan, you have the means to leave and yet, you remain. I wonder why that is?”

As I sat there, quietly, God turned that question on me. I couldn’t help but think about the sins that I have willfully allowed to take hold of me. Then, I thought about the freedom provided me from those sins because of what Christ did on the cross.

And yet, despite the means to leave, despite the desire to flee from my wickedness, despite my knowledge of how sin separates me from others and from God and eats away at my own very being…I remain.

And I wonder…

Why

is

that?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity, grace, repentance, sin

Leave a Reply

