The Gospel and Arcade Fire’s “Reflektor”

Arcade Fire has a problem with authority. Win Butler was quoted as saying, “”I never wanted to be in a band that could never play whatever music we wanted to.” Their latest album, Reflektor, is just that…whatever music they wanted to play.

Part pop (genre and U2), it’s 75-minutes of noise; glorious, joy-filled, and in many places, gospel-proclaiming noise. Kind of like the God described in Romans 1:19-20…He’s there if you’re looking.

The second song is “We Exist”, and as I listened yesterday, I imagined a  dialogue between the Trinity. The three primary characters are Jesus, the Trinity as One (The Godhead- probably the Father) and man, at the end. I wondered who or where the Spirit was in this, then it hit me, He’s right where He always is…in the midst of it; the Spirit is present in Presence.

The characters are in BOLD, and I added them…

The Godhead- “Walking around head full of sound
Acting like we don’t exist
Walk in a room stare out through you
Talking like we don’t exist
But we exist”

Jesus- “Daddy it’s true, I’m different from you
But tell me why they treat me like this?
You turn away, what could I say
Not the first betrayed by a kiss
Maybe it’s true
They’re staring at you
When you walk in a room”

The Godhead- “Turn on us fine
Stare if you like
Or just let us through
Just let us through
Down on your knees
Begging us please
Praying that we don’t exist”

Jesus- “Daddy it’s fine, I’m used to them now
But tell me why they treat me like this?
Is it because we do it like this?
Maybe it’s true
They’re staring at you
When you walk in a room”

The Godhead- “Turn on us fine
Stare if you like
Or just let us through
Just let us through
Let them stare
Let them stare
That’s all right with you

Man- “But lose myself
If it turn away from you
Daddy told him to wait
Mother, I’m so scared
But will you watch us drown?
You know that they will
You know that we’re young
You know that we’re confused
But will you watch us drown?
What are you so afraid to lose?”

The Godhead- “Down on their knees
Begging us please
Praying that we don’t exist
We exist”

Leave a comment

Filed under arcade fire

Leave a Reply

