The Death of a Shoe

2013-01-12 14.14.35

Born: September 18, 2012

Retired: January 12, 2013, Mileage: 445.3

Coming on the heels of a 2.5 month hiatus, I bought these ASICS GT-2170’s just 7 days into my current run streak. They were preceded by a pair of ASICS GT-2160’s that had 358 miles on them. These shoes ran in Illinois, Iowa, Colorado, Virginia, and South Dakota. I ran my furthest distance to date in them, 16.5 miles on December 30, 2012. Like all of my other running shoes, these join the rotation of shoes to wear in inclement weather and as daily wearers.

Shoe Care: 

  • First, I only wear them to run in. Because of this, I can keep exact stats on their mileage. When I get in the 350 mile range, I know that I’ll be replacing them soon. As you can see from above, these lasted a bit less than 4 months, and I got more than 100 miles more than my average shoe mileage.
  • When I take them off, I always untie them and pull the insole out.
  • When they get wet, I stuff newspaper in them to dry them out.

These shoes wear in the same way as my other pairs of ASICS, and also have holes in them in the same places. Judging by web research (here, and here) and the fact that ASICS replaced a pair of my shoes a few years ago, this is obviously a design flaw. There are also holes on the tops, specifically, above my big toe, just not all the way through the mesh.

2013-01-12 14.16.39

Wear pattern. As much as I try not to, I obviously drag my heels quite a bit. A careful comparison between these ones, and the shoes that preceded them, reveals the difference that 100 miles more, and likely the WAY that I run due to my injury, makes.

2013-01-12 15.50.24

2013-01-12 15.49.47

2013-01-12 14.15.05

2013-01-12 14.14.54

Beginning tomorrow, I’m breaking out the new pair of 2170’s (on the right-note the tread difference).

2013-01-12 14.15.28

2 Comments

Filed under runner's world, running

2 responses to “The Death of a Shoe

  1. Heel wear like that is typically caused by over-striding, not dragging your heels. I encourage you to be careful with over-striding because it can lead to joint problems (especially in the knees). My advice (for what it’s worth) is to focus on shorter, faster strides and striking the midfoot instead of heels. Your body will thank you.

Leave a Reply

