“You can only adjust.”

Today, our youngest ran with me for his first time.  He had no idea what to expect with the exception of him seeing me at the end of a run, covered in sweat, out of breath, and with some persistent ache or pain.  I watched as he sped up, slowed down, clenched and unclenched his hands, raise and lowered his shoulders throughout the 9 minute run.  I listened as he huffed and puffed his way through it.  I gave him some hints and tip along the way.  Ultimately though, as he runs more with me, his body will simply adjust.

When I was in the midst of my run streak, I truly fell in love with running.  It stopped being about speed and pace, it even stopped being about the mileage.  It became about the adjustment.  Slowing down some days, and speeding up on others.  It was about finding the joy.  And, I simply adjusted when I wanted to.  Because running daily means you’ll get the mileage in, guaranteed.

God has a will, a design and purpose for my life, and, He has one for yours.  We cannot control the things that happen because of His design.  We can simply adjust to what happens around us, and become a part of it.  There have been a great many runs in which I’m simply caught up in the moment; the breathing is perfect, the footfalls so perfect that I am gliding and feel so alive.  So alive, in fact that I literally feel nothing.  There is just the road and my experience of and interaction with it.  The unity of it.

This is how it is to be with God.

Experience of.

Interaction with.

Adjusting to.

“You can only adjust.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

