Daily Readings, June 13 2012

“God Always Does”

Throughout the Exodus as the Israelites wandered the desert for 40+ years, they created testimonies to the goodness and works of God.  These testimonies were piles of stone, and were placed in locations that God did great things.  As the wandered across the same piece of land, they would see these memorials and then be forced to remember what God had done.  In July 2008, I was on a mission trip in Mexico with some high school students.  This trip was a defining moment for me: it changed my perspective on mission trips, adult leaders, and students.  In short, it forced me to remember that despite it all, God Always Does.  It brought me to my knees and to a breaking point. We were on the hike to the top of the mountain when God told me to create a monument, a testimony to Him and to the truth that God Always Does.  So, I did.

This morning, I awoke at 4am, thoughts, ideas, worries and fears assailing my mind.  I lay there, wrestling with God, trying to calmly place these things within the context of God’s good work in me.  After 30+ minutes of this, I got up to go through the daily readings.

First up was Philippians 1:6 (YouVersion study plan)- “And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns.”

Then the OCA readings (paraphrased):

Romans 4:13-25- “God’s promises are revealed through faith in Him, and this faith is given both for us and for the benefit of others to see what and how God is accomplishing His good work”

Matthew 7:21-23- “Only the faithful to God will enter His Rest, those that endure, the overcomers”

In short, God is faithful and calls those who would claim Him to likewise be faithful to Him.  It was in the midst of the first text that I remembered the testimony built those years ago.  In 2010, I returned to San Luis Potosi and that mountain.  The stone pile?

As things go differently than you think they ought to go, as trials take place and bring you to your knees, through tremendous sorrow and grief, through soaring highs and crushing defeats…know one thing.  God is ever faithful.  May that be my prayer, and yours, today.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

