“Foxes have holes…”

That’s the verse that popped into my head this morning.  In what is becoming an all-too consistent occurrence, I again awoke stressed about the move.

I was back in CR this weekend for Nate’s graduation.  With him heading to South Dakota (left today), my returning to Chicago (today), Katie heading to camp for the Summer (next Tuesday)…the reality is that Anne and John are coming to Chicago in just 2.5 weeks.  Our house?  Unsold. So, we’ll be living in another state, paying the mortgage on a house that we’re not living in, and living in the home of an extremely generous family.

Not going to lie.  I want to sell my house.  I’ve spent much time in prayer over this.

In James, we read that “we don’t have because we don’t ask.”  I’ve been asking.

We also read, “when you ask, you don’t receive because you ask out of selfish motives.”  Really?  I thought I moved to Illinois because we were called here.  Is it too much to ask that the house sells and that my family joins me?  Apparently.

As I pulled into the Starbucks parking lot for my “one for the road” and devotional time…Matthew 8:20 pops into my head: “Foxes have holes and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has nowhere to lay his head.”  Uh-oh.  I knew where this was going.

From the OCA readings for the day…

Acts 17:26-28: “And He has made from one blood every nation of men to dwell on all the face of the earth, and has determined their pre-appointed times and the boundaries of their dwellings, so that they should seek the Lord, in the hope that they might grope for Him and find Him, though He is not far from each one of us, for in Him we live and move and have our being, as also some of your own poets have said, ‘For we are also His offspring.’”

Translation: “God determines where you live so that man will call out to God.” Am I calling out to God in the midst of this?

John 12:26-27: “If anyone serves Me, let him follow Me; and where I am, there My servant will be also. If anyone serves Me, him My Father will honor.  Now My soul is troubled, and what shall I say? ‘Father, save Me from this hour’? But for this purpose I came to this hour.

Translation: “Servants follow me, and are close to me (see the connection to the Acts text!?).  They are where I am (homeless, possibly).  When trouble comes…should I ask to be released from it?  NO!  It’s why I am here.” If God brought me here, and I followed…do I really get to ask to be freed from trouble?

Wow.

Frustrating.

Freeing.

Safe.

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts 17, ministry frustrations, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

