On 140 days

For the last week, I’ve woken up with the following verse in my head:

“For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come.”- 1 Timothy 4:8

I’m at 140 days straight of running, and I am astounded by how weak my faith in Christ, my obedience to Him, is currently.  I can run 540 miles, and fail to model humility and die to myself.  I can show tremendous discipline, wake up and run regardless of temperature and conditions, but at the drop of a hat, my mind can wander deeply away from God.

The way I see it, I have three choices:

Stop running, pursue godliness.

Continue running, continue in my weakness and be a great runner, but shallow fan of Jesus.

Pursue Christ, then run.

Leave a comment

Filed under disciple, discipleship, false humility, running

Leave a Reply

