Thoughts on 100 days of running

Today was the milestone.  100 days in a row of running.  In rain, sleet, snow, wind, and sun, I’ve woken up everyday since November 23 and put in at least two miles.  In those 100 days, I’ve run just shy of 400 miles.  I’ve run in 5 states: Virginia (where it all started), Iowa, South Dakota, Illinois, and Kentucky (I’m currently in Louisville for SYMC).

I’ve often been asked, “What do you think about when you run?”

Here is today’s joyful thought:

“For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come”- 1 Timothy 4:8.

That’s a nice little Jesus Juke.  Seriously.  100 days of running?  Impressive, right?  Sure it is.  Just like the “99 Days of Jesus Bible Study” (that took me 140 days) I’ve recently completed over at YouVersion.  And, like the 1 year “Life Application Study Bible” that I’m currently working on (also, more than the requisite 365 days).

No doubt, this is perceived as some sort of false humility, or worse, self-aggrandizing call for more devotion, more doing, more, more, more, more.

But, here’s the bottom line.  It was actually easier for me to run 100 days that it was/is for me to become godly.  I can feel good because I can point to a lower heart rate, more consistent pace, any number of measurable things that will make tomorrow’s run a piece of cake.

Yet, I can read my Bible, making all sorts of notations about the character of Christ, I can offer up some paltry prayer about being more like Him and…100, 120, or 180 days later, actually be NO MORE LIKE HIM than I was at day 1.

Right now, if someone were to ask me why I was running every day, the answer is simple.  It is who I am.  I am a runner.

If someone were to ask me why I read my Bible, I am truly unsure of the answer.

I can run 100 days in a row, this alone physically, emotionally, and mentally makes me a runner.

I can read my Bible consistently, and this, in no way, shape or form makes me godly. And, it’s time for me to stop thinking otherwise.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Thoughts on 100 days of running

  1. i ran 2k today, and then I ate two hot dogs. What does that make me?

Leave a Reply

