Spiritual Adultery

Last night, I was out with Phoebe our beagle on a walk.  As we walked past this vehicle, I saw something that struck me.  Do you see it?

On the right, is a large sticker that reads, “It’s all about ME”.

To the left, is the Jesus fish.

This morning, I was reading John 8:1-11, when the Pharisees bring the woman caught in adultery to Jesus.  The devotional that I’m reading makes the point that there are times that we are all guilty of spiritual adultery.  In the “Live” section, it reads, “Ask the Holy Spirit to give you wisdom and guidance not to condone other people’s sin and at the same time not to condemn those people (or yourself) either.  Ask the Spirit to bring to your mind people you can love while avoiding condemning and condoning.”

So, instead of casting stones at the owner of the vehicle, I should probably look to my own spiritual adultery.  And then, recognize that Jesus sets me free from that.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

