Praise You!

For the past month or so, I’ve been using YouVersion‘s Life Application Study Bible Devotion as my morning quiet time.  It’s a simple verse or two, followed by a brief thought.  Last week, The Message//SOLO was free for Kindle from Amazon, so I downloaded that as well.

Here’s the reading from today’s YouVersion piece:

Psalm 9:13-14- Lord, have mercy on me. See how my enemies torment me. Snatch me back from the jaws of death.Save me so I can praise you publicly at Jerusalem’s gates, so I can rejoice that you have rescued me.”

Here is the comment: “All of us want God to help us when we are in trouble, but often for different reasons. Some want God’s help so that they will be successful and other people will like them. Others want God’s help so that they will be comfortable and feel good about themselves. David, however, wanted help from God so that justice would be restored to Israel and so that he could show others God’s power. When you call to God for help, consider your motive. Is it to save yourself pain and embarrassment or to bring God glory and honor?”

Wow.  Blown away.  As I’ve though about my own struggle with sin, my lens was often to “save myself pain and embarrassment” rather than “to being God glory and honor.”  When God frees me, my response is praise and His response is to then be the recipient of that praise because He alone is Deliverer.  I then read from the SOLO study, my reading was Matthew 11:20-12:21.  This section opens with Jesus pronouncing woes on the cities where he has ministered and saved people.  Why?  Because they did not repent, they saw the miracles preformed by Him yet they failed to give Him (and God) the proper worship.

Forgive me Father.  I am too often way more interested in avoiding shame, pain, embarrassment when I seek you out.   I don’t want to be caught or found out.  My faux-repentance is more about me than it is about holiness.  I chase after worldly sorrow because it’s more about my comfort and feelings than it is a heart given over to You.  As I go through my day today, help me to see that forgiveness from You is about You and Your desire to bring me into relationship with my Deliverer.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

