Wow, I am lame.

I’ve seen some stats lately about blogging, frequency, posting, reading, blah, blah, blah.  It turns out that I am a “hobby blogger.”  Seriously, I need to work on that.  It’s not that I don’t want to post, I simply have a ton going on.  So…500 words or less:

Running:  May was a serious rebuild month for me, but I’m back at it now.  The foam roller I bought works wonders for my knees.  422-ish miles for the year, and 35-ish for June.  My goal for the year is 950; basically I need to get in an average of 78 miles/month for the rest of the year to hit it.  If I am patient, I think that I can do it.

Ministry:  Heading to North East Iowa Christian Service Camp for a week of middle school camp tomorrow.  Then, the next week, I’m back at camp for high school week.  Our trip to Loveland Colorado for our Week of Hope is July 21-August 1.  Then, VBS and we start up our normal schedule in September.  We are having some excellent ministry team meetings over the Summer and talking about some pretty great stuff.

Family:  Kate’s home for Summer and heading to MS camp with me and John for the week.  Anne and Nate are heading to NW Iowa for a few days to hang out with family.  Our family vacation to a cabin in Tennessee is 2 weeks away.  We can’t wait.

School:  The Narrative Preaching class at IWU was AWESOME.  Even better is the fact that I can apply it right now, because I’m in the midst of a 3 week (4 weeks counting a communion meditation) series on authentic worship.  Now I’m taking a class called, “Power, Change and Conflict Management”.  The class will go through the Summer, so here is my Summer reading list for school:

Ministry Velocity, Wayne Schmidt; How To Change your Church, Alan Nelson/Gene Appel; Sticky Teams, Larry Osborne; The Five Dysfunctions of a Team, Patrick Lencioni; Communication and Conflict Management in Churches and Christian Organizations, Kenneth Gangel/Samuel Canine.

I’m also doing some personal reading:  The Millennials: Connecting to America’s Largest Generation, Thom Rainer/Jess Rainer and Love Wins, Rob Bell.

What are you reading this Summer?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

