Thoughts from John 14

I read John 14 a moment ago as a part of my daily devo time. 

Here are some interesting statements that Jesus makes:

14:9-  “I am the way and the truth and the life.  No one coms to the Father except through me.”

How unfriendly of him.  Who does he think he is to make this statement?

14:12-  “I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing.”

We could then infer that if we are not doing what he did, the whole love God and love people thing, we have no faith in him…regardless of what we say.

14:15-  “If you love me, you will obey what I command.”

The inverse is true.  If we do not do as Jesus asks, we don’t love him…no matter what we think.

14:21-22-  “Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me.  He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him.”

No obedience?  No love.  No love?   No love from God.  No revelation of Christ…No matter what we think.

14:23-24-  “If anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching…He who does not love me will not obey my teaching.”

Obedience is clearly linked to love.  Obedience is our response to God’s love for us.  If we are not obedient to the things that God calls us to do, then we do not love God.

Regardless of what we think.

Do you want to know if you love God?  It’s simple, really.

Are you obedient to him?

Leave a comment

Filed under gospel of john, Jesus, jesus christ, john 14

Leave a Reply

