"…then why the hell are you so sad?"

That got your attention…more on that in a moment.

The week(s) that was (were):

2 weeks since the last update. I suck. Been busy with school and work stuff, the week before last I was playing all sorts of catch up from my trek to Philadelphia, and then some ministry stuff came up. The past weekend was great, spent time with my daughter helping her pick out a laptop for college in the Fall. (Yeah, the reality of that is sinking in, and quick). Sunday, we were invited to hang out with a neighbor for their family Easter ritual…it was AWESOME. The kids had an egg hunt, and we just visited with them for more than 2 hours. Last night there was no senior high group, so was at home with the fam for a great night. I finally got to see the beginning of the show “Undercover Boss“.

Grad School:

I had last week off for spring break. Having all the extra free time showed me how much time I spend on school stuff. I’m in my final week of my first class, “Non-Profit Management.” It has been a great class, I’ve learned a ton. Lot’s of immediate application here at Eastview. Next up is “Cross-Cultural Ministry”, which begins on Thursday. At the end of the month, I’m heading to Marion Indiana for a week to attend “Revivals and Revivalism in American Christianity”. That will be a busy week, class from 8:30-5 Monday – Thursday, and then 8:30-noon on Friday.

Family Update:

Anne’s tests and check-ups continue to come back clean, which obviously rules. Thanks for the continued thoughts and prayers. Katie continues to prepare for Lincoln Christian University in the Fall. Nate is still working at Fareway, with some early (5am) mornings before school. John is looking forward to summer, playing outside and looking forward to camp in June.

Running:

My knees continue to heal. Working the IT Band angle, and they both are improving. I got 4 runs in last week, including a killer Thursday-Saturday, 3 days in a row because I overslept on Wednesday. On Friday, Nate ran and John biked, and Saturday, John biked along. It was fun having people with me. Overall, last week was a 14 mile week. Started off this week with a 4.5-miler, hoping for a 16 mile week. On May 1, I’ll be running the 5k portion of the Illinois Marathon and plan on the Cedar Rapids Run the Flood on June 12. We’ll see what a half-marathon looks like in the Fall.

About that title…

The phrase comes from the Sheryl Crow song “If it makes you happy”. Without going into a ton of details, I was on Facebook this morning and came across a friend’s page. There are some personal issues going on right now, and the advice that they received was terrible.

“you are being true to yourself and following your heart! More people in this world need to do that with their lives!!”

“you have to live your life in a way that makes you feel happy and content.”

Why is this bad? It runs counter to scripture. Jeremiah 17:9 says, “The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure.” In Romans 8:5, Paul writes, “Those who live according to the sinful nature have their minds set on what that nature desires; but those who live in accordance to the Spirit (God) have their minds set on what the spirit desires.” Paul goes on to define the sinful nature of man this way, “For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do–this I keep on doing.”

A deceitful heart. A sinful nature. Doing what I ought not do. All symptoms of a disease. Sin.

Being true to ourselves is the complete and total opposite of the heart and mind of Christ. In Luke 9:23 Jesus says, “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.” Jesus’ cross and my heart are counter to one another. And…your heart and Jesus’ are counter as well.

He continues in verse 24, “For whoever wants to save his life will lose it…”. I’ll paraphrase it, “whoever wants to be true to themselves and follow their heart, to live their life in a way that makes them happy and content…will lose it.”

If I set about to live my life simply making myself happy, I’d ignore my kids when they interfered with my joy. I would ignore the feelings of my wife. I would not show up to work on some days. I would simply do things the way I wanted to do them. Because it is all about me.

The Christian is called to live differently. We are not our own, but we were bought with a price. The cost paid is what we celebrated this past weekend.

Sheryl Crow says it best…”If it makes you happy, then why the hell are you so sad?”

2 Comments

Filed under jeremiah 17:9, luke 9:23, luke 9:24, romans 8:5, sheryl crow

2 responses to “"…then why the hell are you so sad?"

  1. I REALLY liked this one and I whole-heartedly agree with the premise. Sometimes only "right thought" and "right action" get you through when the feelings you have are all messed up. I think that the phrase "be true to yourself" is often misunderstood and misused. I think back to one or two occasions when I made a decision because I thought it was what others wanted me to do, even though deep down I knew better- it wasn't a clear cut kind of wrong or right situation… but one where the deeper good called on me to speak some truth and take some "right action" that might have caused some initial hurt. I didn't want to hurt anyone and so pursued a different course of action… realizing now that I would've saved myself and others some pain in the long run…. Being true in a real way requires strength, a focus on God's word, and a prayerful heart to be true to yourself (and to God) in some situations. There is no emotion that makes a "wrong" action "right".

  2. nice post friend. i concur.

Leave a Reply

