2 Days at IWU

I’ve been at Indiana Wesleyan University for a few days, beginning my Master’s program in Ministerial Leadership. Tuesday night I hung out with Katy S, a friendship formed in San Luis Potosi Mexico a few years ago. Last night (Wednesday), I headed up to Markle to visit another old friend and fellow youth minister, Jason Frisch. Played some cards and Wii, talked with him and his wife and met some of his students. Jason and I are taking groups to Mexico in July. Tonight, I went out to eat with Lonnie Vandeventer, the alumni director here at IWU. He is an elder at the local Christian Church here in Marion, and my connecting point for housing while here. We ate a meal and he gave me a campus tour. Now, I’m just chilling in the student center, doing some reading for my first assignment.

My first class is “Non-Profit Management”, which sounds mundane but is not. Basically, it’s a church growth course. This morning for our devotional, our professor, Dr Bob Whitesel talked about the church growth principals found in Acts 2:42-47. He indicated that we can be responsible for (or is it “to”??) 3 of the 4:

  • Spiritual maturity-marked by devotion to the Word
  • Maturity in unity-marked by our fellowship and trust
  • Maturity in favor-marked by our service to the community

When those 3 take place, when we honor our responsibility TO provide opportunity FOR those things, God “does” number 4:

  • Maturity in numbers

This all has my my turning over and over again. I’m excited for how God is going to use this.

I’m heading back to Iowa tomorrow, hoping to leave very early as the weather could be an issue.

Leave a comment

Filed under acts 2, dr bob whitesel, indiana wesleyan university, iwu

Leave a Reply

