Some random thoughts

Running:

Yesterday, I was over at Runners World’s site, and came across this post about running in icy and snowy conditions. So…I tried the “Screw Shoes” idea. I put some 1/2 inch sheet metal screws into the bottom of my just-about-worn-out Asics GT-2140 (I have some new Nike’s on the way). This morning, I went out and ran a 3.6 miler on ice-covered streets. My pace was only :30 off my average pace from the last 30 days. I’ll just blame it on the -2 temperature.


Christmas Music:

My fave is the slow, mournful stuff (shocker). Click here to listen.

Aimee Mann’s “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”
Enya’s “O Come, O Come Emmanuel”
Feist’s “Lo, How a Rose E’re Blooming”
Low’s “If You Were Born Today”
Pedro the Lion’s “The First Noel”, “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen”, “I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day”

Quite possibly the most hopeful scripture I’ve ever read:

“For the revelation awaits an appointed time; it speaks of the end and will not prove false. Thought it lingers, wait for it; it will certainly come and will not delay…But the LORD is in his holy temple; let all the earth be silent before him.” -Habakkuk 2:3, 20

Leave a comment

Filed under christmas music, habakkuk 2:20, habakkuk 2:3, runner's world, screw shoes

Leave a Reply

