On hating God and receiving mercy

Picking up where we left off…God comes against Israel for her sins. He tells her what He’s going to do them in Micah 6; Micah 7 begins with how sucky it is to have God against her: people cannot be trusted…no one. Sons against fathers, daughters-in law against mothers-in law, “a man’s enemies within his own household”. I immediately thought of Derek Webb’s “A King and a Kingdom”:

“But nothing unifies like a common enemy

and we’ve got one, sure as hell.

He may be living in your house,

he may be raising up your kid,
s
he may be sleeping with your wife
.
Oh no, he may not look like you think”

And then…in verse 7, the sun begins to rise. Despite the sins, despite the hatred toward God…something happens.

“But as for me, I watch in hope for the LORD, I wait for God my Savior; my God will hear me.”

Micah tells the enemies of God’s people not to take too much joy in Israel’s downfall. Why? Because God’s people are simply being punished for her sin. Despite this fact, despite the darkness, despite their hatred of, for and towards God, the LORD is their light. Because they know that they deserve this wrath, they bear it, but only for a time, only until the LORD “pleads their case” and establishes them in HIS righteousness. And, people, the enemies of God’s people will simply not know how to respond. They will be dumbfounded, enable to speak or to hear. They will fear God, not merely for His judgment and power, but because He can forgive sins, because He shows mercy and destroys our sins and separation.

Over the past few months, I’ve really been struggling with the concept of grace. I think at the root of this struggle is a hatred towards God. I’m not sure what to do with that…do I REALLY hate God? What does that even mean? What else explains my bent toward sin? Is is just the unredeemed and unregenerate parts of me being filtered out? Perhaps a “better” question is, “Do I REALLY love God?”. Recently I was asked how I can rectify my hatred toward God and my continued hope in Him? Simple.

Micah 7:8b-9: “though I have fallen, I will rise. Though I sit int he darkness, the LORD will be my light. Because I have sinned against him, I will bear my LORD’s wrath, until he pleads my case and establishes my right. He will bring me out into the light; I will see his righteousness.”

Why do I hate God?

Psalm 130:3-4- “If you, O LORD, kept a record of sins, O LORD, who could stand? But with you there is forgiveness; therefore you are feared.”

Micah 7:17c-19- “They will turn in fear to the LORD our God and will be afraid of you. Who is a God like you, who pardons sins and forgives the transgression of the remnant of his inheritance? You do not stay angry forever but delight to show mercy. You will again have compassion on us; you will tread our sins underfoot and hurl all our iniquities into the depths of the sea.”

I am God’s enemy because of His power, His power to be kind and merciful. His power to forgive. His power to love in a way that I can neither fathom nor express.

God is judge, jury, prosecutor and executor. He is also Defender. And I, despite my constant rebellion against the very one who saves me, am righteous because of Him.

Because if this is not true…we are doomed beyond belief.

1 Comment

Filed under a king and a kingdom, derek webb, micah, micah 7, psalm 130, psalm 130:4

One response to “On hating God and receiving mercy

  1. Nice post.It does seem like we as christians are always asking ourselves whether or not we hate God. Rather, we should be asking ourselves do we "Truly" love our God?What actions are we committing that show this to him, as well as others?Again, nice post. I will be subscribing 🙂

Leave a Reply

