Walk of shame

So, this morning I headed out for what I was hoping to be at least a 3-miler. About 2 miles in, the outside of my right calf really began to cramp. Thinking I could push through it, I kept running….farther and farther away from home. Big mistake. I soon found myself walking. 29 degrees is awfully cold to be in shorts and sweaty. It was a long, cold walk home. What Luke Reid told me about running outside versus on a treadmill is true…when you run outside, and you run away from home, you have to get back. And today, getting back sucked.

As I ran, I listened to *Arcade Fire’s “Funeral”. The fourth song is called “Neighborhood #3 (Power Out)” and I really took the words in.

“I woke up with the power out,
Not really something to shout about.
Ice has covered up my parents’ hands.
Don’t have any dreams, don’t have any plans.”

Have you ever seen people spiritually empty?

“I went out into the night,
I went out to find some light.
Kids are swingin’ from the power lines,
Nobody’s home, so nobody minds.”

In this case, it’s the leaders who are spiritually empty, and people are looking for “light” anywhere they can get it…even from dangerous places.

“I woke up on the darkest night,
Neighbors all were shoutin’ that they found the light.
(””We found the light!””)
Shadows jumpin’ all over my walls,
Some of them big, some of them small.”

When the light is found, there is rejoicing.

“I went out into the night,
I went out to pick a fight with anyone.
Light a candle for the kids,
Jesus Christ, don’t keep it hid!”

There is also anger, especially when the light is so prevalent and available. We wonder why people would “keep it hid”.

“Ice has covered up my parents’ hands.
Don’t have any dreams, don’t have any plans.
Growin’ up in some strange storm,
Nobody’s cold, nobody’s warm.”

But, there are the leaders…un-moved, unwilling to see what they have. And unwilling to do anything.

“I went out into the night,
I went out to find some light.
Kids are dyin’ out in the snow,
Look at them go, look at them go!”

People are dying without the power, without the light. Look at them. Look at them.

“And the power’s out in the heart of man,
Take it from your heart, put it in your hand.
What’s the plan?”

When we feel like the power’s out…when we “feel” empty…what should we do? Act. Love. Serve.

“Is it a dream? Is it a lie?
I think I’ll let you decide.
Just light a candle for the kids,
Jesus Christ, don’t keep it hid!
Cause nothing’s hid from us kids!
You ain’t foolin’ nobody with the lights out!”

Our kids see who we really are. When we really live out our faithful. When we hide the light from them. When we act like the light is on, but it has been off for so long. When we use fake light.

“And the power’s out in the heart of man,
Take it from your heart, put it in your hand.
And there’s something wrong in the heart of man,
You take it from your heart and put it in your hand!”

Faith without works is dead.

“Where’d you go?”

When, oh when, will we kick the lights on?

*To be clear, I don’t know where the gang from Arcade Fire stands spiritually, but with much of their lyrical content…they speak to the human condition.

2 Comments

Filed under arcade fire, funeral, neighborhood #3(power out)

2 responses to “Walk of shame

  1. Hi there,According to your "About Me" page you're a Narnia fan! That's awesome because, on my blog, I'm giving away three free copies of a new book that I think us Narnia fans are going to love. It's called Curse of the Spider King, by best-selling author Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper. If you're interested, Click here to check it out!-Jacob Parker

  2. reminds me of DC talk's "What if I stumble, What if I fall" The first line of the song says,"The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today is Christians, who acknowledge Jesus with their lips and walk out the door, and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable."

Leave a Reply

