Days 4 & 5 of 31

Obviously, I didn’t post yesterday.

Yesterday’s reading was from Revelation 12:7-12: “Now have come the salvation and the power and the kingdom of our God and the authority of His Christ, for the accuser of our brothers, who accuses them before God day and night, has been hurled down. They overcame him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony, they did not love their lives so much as to shrink from death. Therefore rejoice you heavens and you who dwell in them! But woe to the earth and the sea because the devil has gone down to you. He is filled with fury because he knows his time is short.”

This is tough for me to read because even though these verses speak of victory, one that happened long ago, I often don’t feel victorious. I mean, I read this…I believe it, even. But…this part, “they did not love their lives so much as to shrink from death”…I struggle with this. Because most days, I love my life too much, and actually embrace the death the the accuser offers. God, forgive my unbelief!

This morning’s reading is from Ecclesiastes 4:9-12. It reads, “Two are better than one, because they have a good return on their work. If one falls down, the other can pick him up. But pity the man who falls and has no one to pick him up. Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm, but how can one keep warm alone? Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.”

I know exactly where I am on my own: no return for my work, on the ground, cold, defenseless and broken.

U2 is tonight. As I write this and listen, I am so excited. Here’s what I’m hoping they play (in no certain order):

Where the Streets Have No Name
I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For
I’ll Go Crazy If I Don’t Go Crazy Tonight
Mofo
Gone
40
Sunday Bloody Sunday
Breathe
Until the End of the World
Ultraviolet
Sometimes You Can’t Make It On Your Own
All Because of You
Walk On
Desire
Bullet the Blue Sky
Electric Co

I’ll be posting the concert via Twitter…my handle is xjm716.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Days 4 & 5 of 31

  1. was just talking with someone recently about how when we hold onto our guilt after repenting and asking for forgiveness, we are saying that our guilt is stronger than his blood." They overcame him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony,". I am thankful that even when we love our lives too much to give over to him- he still manages to use us to his ends and that his blood overcomes it all.

  2. In the past, I've viewed "They did not love their lives so much as to shrink from death" as "the martyr" thing, as in, those who gave their lives for the faith would rather choose heaven than life here. But because of my study on this, I think of how many times I value death (in sin) over life in Christ. What a fool I can be!

Leave a Reply

