"Now that’s a bold statement"-Jules Winfield

I’ve been a U2 fan for many, many years. Unforgettable Fire was the first album I owned…on cassette. I saw them in 1987 at the Omni (whatever it is now called ) in December of 1987 for The Joshua Tree tour. I remember the auditory assault of Achtung, Baby and it’s partner, Zooropa.

When Pop came out, I wrote it off as some experimental, ugly red-headed step child of a record. All That You Can’t Leave Behind, How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb and No Line on The Horizon are all fine and dandy.

Here it comes…

Ready?

I was wrong about Pop. I don’t care who you are. Pop is the best album. Why?

A great many bands can make a Joshua Tree.

Coldplay, Arcade Fire, Pearl Jam, Nirvana…they’ve all made a Joshua Tree. The Poilce…THEY made a Joshua Tree.

Here’s the question that must be asked…who, but U2, has the guts to make a Pop?

12 days to Chicago.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

