Soul Searching

I’m at the point in the year when I ask myself why I blog.

I’ve spent 4 of the last 6 weeks out of the loop, away from the internet, away from the blogs of others, away from email, etc, all of the things that we lived without. I’ve also been away from reading beyond my bible. I’ve got about 80 pages left in Generation Me by Jean Twenge, and am only 20 or so pages into Christless Christianity by Michael Horton. I basically feel like I’ve hit a dry spot.

I’ve been posting a bit more consistently (but not much) over at our parent’s blog, and will continue to do so over the next few weeks.

I’ll be away again next week, this time on our senior high’s summer conference trip to Carbondale, Illinois for CIY’s MOVE event. Summer passes by so fast. It seems like March-June is crazy busy, preparing for camps and mission trips, and then, once those events hit, we just sort of go into cruise control. The events take on a life of their own, and right now I feel caught in the midst of them.

The big change is coming in September; we’re splitting or youth group into two distinct groups, high school students will meet on Sunday nights, and middle school on Wednedays, and even that has a life of it’s own at this point.

Above all, I am grateful that He is a God of Order and Structure. Thanks be to God!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Soul Searching

  1. I know what you mean when it comes to dry spells. I tend to think of things in term of seasons — planting, growing, harvesting, resting.Christless Christianity — that's sitting on my pile of books to read. Let me know what you think of it.Curt Gallmeyer

Leave a Reply

