Doing versus Practicing

I love Pandora. Basically, it’s internet radio that you can program. Simply program in the band you want to listen to, and you’ll hear that band, as well as bands from the similar genre. Lately, I’ve been listening to the “Smashing Pumpkins” station. I’ve heard lot’s of music from Foo Fighters, The Killers, Stone Temple Pilots, etc. Last week while mowing, I was using the iPhone to listen, and…I heard Him. Loud and clear.

“You sit there in your heartache
Waiting on some beautiful boy to
To save you from your old ways
You play forgiveness
Watch it now here he come

He doesn’t look a thing like Jesus
But he talks like a gentleman
Like you imagined when you were young”

-When You Were Young, The Killers

Take time with a wounded hand
‘Cause it likes to heal
Take time with a wounded hand
Guess I like to steal
Take time with a wounded hand
‘Cause it likes to heal, I like to steal
I’m half the man I used to be
This I feel as the dawn
It fades to gray

-Creep, Stone Temple Pilots

Has someone taken your faith?
Its real, the pain you feel
The life, the love
You die to heal
The hope that starts
The broken hearts
You trust, you must
Confess

Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you?
Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you?

I’ve got another confession my friend
I’m no fool
I’m getting tired of starting again
Somewhere new”

-The Best of You-Foo Fighters

This morning at men’s breakfast, we read from 1 John, 2:28-3:3. Here’s verse 29 from the NIV:

“If you know that he (Jesus) is righteous, you know that everyone who does what is right has been born of him (Jesus, again).”

Not that is plain and simple. Why? because I do what is right. When I keep to a legalistic righteousness, I keep the law. But then, Rob read from the New American Standard Bible.

“If you know that He is righteous, you know that everyone who practices righteousness is born of Him.”

Ouch. That…sucks. Why? Because I simply do not “practice” righteousness. I practice all sorts of things. I play HALO 3 on X-Box live by myself, so I can get better. I run, several times a week, training my body to go longer distances. I try different things when I cook, practicing.

But, righteousness? No. I am not a practicer of righteousness.

I sit here in my sin, waiting for something to come along and save me from my old ways. I play with forgiveness and grace. What “saves” me looks nothing like Jesus, but it treats me well enough I suppose.

I take time with my sin, because I like the feel. I’m half the man I used to be.

The pain I feel is real. I must trust, I must confess. No one is getting the best, the best, the best of me. Here’s another confession, I’m tired of starting over again. I need something new.

Him. You. Savior. Jesus. LORD.

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 john 2, 1 john 2:29, creep, foo fighters, smashing pumpkins, stone temple pilots, the best of you, the killers, when you were young

Leave a Reply

