Monday Update

The Weekend That Was:

Saturday morning I put the carpet in my car. I’ll post some pics as soon as the weather clears up a little. All weekend was cold and rainy. I also re-injured my back on Saturday, all of the moves that I had made over the past 2 weeks towards improvement went out the door. In fact, it hurt worse on Saturday than it had before. For the balance of the day, I just chilled at home.
Sunday was corporate worship, Sunday school, ministry team meeting, and d-group last night. Last night, we watched “The Apprentice” together as a family. It was nice to simply “be with” one another.

Coming Up this Week:

LIFE Group is tonight. Doctor appointment tomorrow morning, and then Seth is coming over tomorrow night to hang out. I need to begin working on my sermon for the 22nd. I’m really torn over what to do, so I’ll be praying about it.

What I’ve Been Reading:

For the past several weeks, I’ve been reading the Book of Ecclesiastes. On the whole, it’s a pretty depressing read. It does a great job of painting life without God as utterly meaningless. Today, I read from 11:7-10. Here’s verse 9:

“Be happy, young man, while you are young
and let your heart give you joy in the days of your youth.
Follow the ways of your heart and whatever your eyes see,
but know that for all these things God will bring you to judgment.”

The footnote for this verse in the NIV Study Bible has this to say:

“The prospect of divine praise or blame makes every detail of life significant rather than meaningless. To know this gives direction to our heart and discrimination to our eyes.”

Translation: it all matters. Our thoughts, decisions, actions…all of it.

What I’m Listening To:

Braddigan-Watchfires
U2-No Line on the Horizon

Things that I am thankful for:

Family. Friends. I got to talk with Phil twice this weekend. Accountability. Scripture. That Jesus is sometimes a “jerk”. Truth is out there, and when I collide with It, It leaves a mark. The God I believe in isn’t short of cash, mister.

Leave a comment

Filed under braddigan, Ecclesiastes, mfp, u2

Leave a Reply

