It’s a big enough umbrella, but it’s always me that ends up getting wet"-The Police

Ecclesiastes 9:7-9

7 Go, eat your food with gladness, and drink your wine with a joyful heart, for it is now that God favors what you do.

8 Always be clothed in white, and always anoint your head with oil.

9 Enjoy life with your wife, whom you love, all the days of this
meaningless life that God has given you under the sun� all your
meaningless days. For this is your lot in life and in your toilsome
labor under the sun.

For those of you without God, Solomon is clear. Enjoy life while you can. Get out of it as much as you can. Pastor Tim Lucas of Liquid Church in New Jersey would put it this way…this earth, as sin-driven and sin-ruined as it is…is as close to heaven as you are going to get unless you submit yourself to Christ and enter into a realationship with Him.

And for those who are believers, in a meaningful relationship with Christ, this world is as close to hell as you’re going to get.

Take a look at these 2 sets of lyrics…Thanks for the VNV Nation James!

Saviour-VNV Nation

“As the stars appear,
I know I’ll find you staring at the sky.
Pointlessly reaching for some light
You hope to guide your sorry way.
Your body bleeding,
Your body burned,
Your body scarred,
Around the cinder of your heart.
A God of love.
A God of care.
A God of hope.
A God of words.
A God as lost as you and blind
To fill your hollow soul again.
You seek a God to stand above you,
wrapping healing arms around you.
You’ll find another God of pain,
A God of suffering and tears.
Give yourself unto your God.
Sacrifice yourself again.
Burn your thoughts, erase your will
To Gods of suffering and tears.
Tie hallowed bonds around your hands.
Kneel before this seat of shame
to Gods as lost,
Gods as blind,
Gods of suffering and pain.”

King of Pain-The Police

“There’s a little black spot on the sun today
It’s the same old thing as yesterday
There’s a black hat caught in a high tree top
There’s a flag pole rag and the wind won’t stop

I have stood here before inside the pouring rain
With the world turning circles running ’round my brain
I guess I’m always hoping that you’ll end this reign
But it’s my destiny to be the king of pain

There’s a little black spot on the sun today
That’s my soul up there
It’s the same old thing as yesterday
That’s my soul up there
There’s a black hat caught in a high tree top
That’s my soul up there
There’s a flag pole rag and the wind won�t stop
That’s my soul up there

I have stood here before inside the pouring rain
With the world turning circles running ’round my brain
I guess I’m always hoping that you’ll end this reign
But it’s my destiny to be the king of pain

There’s a fossil that�s trapped in a high cliff wall
That’s my soul up there
There’s a dead salmon frozen in a waterfall
That’s my soul up there
There’s a blue whale beached by a springtide’s ebb
That’s my soul up there
There’s a butterfly trapped in a spider’s web
That’s my soul up there

I have stood here before inside the pouring rain
With the world turning circles running ’round my brain
I guess I’m always hoping that you’ll end this reign
But it’s my destiny to be the king of pain

There’s a king on a throne with his eyes torn out
There’s a blind man looking for a shadow of doubt
There’s a rich man sleeping on a golden bed
There’s a skeleton choking on a crust of bread

King of pain

There’s a red fox thorn by a huntsman’s pack
That’s my soul up there
There’s a black winged gull with a broken back
That’s my soul up there
There’s a little black spot on the sun today
It’s the same old thing as yesterday

I have stood here before inside the pouring rain
With the world turning circles running �round my brain
I guess I�m always hoping that you�ll end this reign
But it�s my destiny to be the king of pain

King of pain
King of pain
King of pain
I�ll always be king of pain
I�ll always be king of pain
I�ll always be king of pain…”

These 2 sets of lyrics say essentially the same thing. If “God is good”, why do “bad” things happen? What both authors do not see is the impact that sin has on the world.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “It’s a big enough umbrella, but it’s always me that ends up getting wet"-The Police

  1. Good point, though sometimes it's hard to arrive to definite conclusions

Leave a Reply

