Need sleep.

It is early, too early. Words of wisidom-the night before you go to willow creek for a student ministries conference, do NOT stay up until 1am to play xbox 360. Just don’t do it.

Yesterday, I posted “letter from a concerned follower” in response to the sermon from my pastor. I’t crazy, because often when I hare something, my thoughts go to lyrical content, moder poetry. On september 11th, literally the first thing I thought of was the song “big trucks” by the oft-quoted PTL…

“dad, dad, why did you let that man push you around like that
you should’ve beat him down – down to the ground – down to the ground for that
he says, “son, you’re still young and you always jump the gun”

there are real people in the big, big trucks
that you flip off when they get in your way
you get so hacked, that you pay no mind to the great big sign that says oversized load
do you really think they can go as fast, as you in your 87 trans am
they know you’re in a terrible rush but they’re going just as fast, as fast as they can

dad, dad, i really don’t understand what driving big trucks has to do with that man
you should’ve taught him a lesson about being rude about talking to you with such an attitude
son you’re still young and you always jump the gun
you get so hacked, that you pay no mind to the great big sign that says oversized load
do you really think they can go as fast, as you in your 87 trans am
they know you’re in a terrible rush but they’re going just as fast, as fast as they can”

There were “real people” in the towers that day, in the pentagon, on flight 93. they were more than a number, more than just casualties.

I though of another song during Bill’s sermon…centering around the word “promise” or “pledge” as found in Ephesians 1:14.

“diamond ring”-PTL, David Bazan

“You said that you would not have me last summer
And you said that you would not have me last spring
But I hoped that you would change your mind by august
Especially when I bought that diamond ring

But you still said no, you wouldn’t have me
You wouldn’t have me
You still said no, no, no

I heard that you’ve been sleeping with your old friends
And I heard when each one left and broke your heart
I told you then that I would never leave you
And I told you that I loved you from the start

You still said no
You would not have me
You still said no, no, no

Even though you haven’t any answers
Still think that you don’t need anyone
To save you from the mess that you’ve created
And even when I gave my only son

You still said no
You wouldn’t have me
You still said no, no, no”

Well, that’s it for several hours. One of my favorite things about blogging is the capability to post thoughts (duh!, i think I’m onto something here). The community that this culture creates it awesome. For now, later.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

