Currently Listening: Illinois By Sufjan Stevens

Tuesday, tuesday, tuesday. anne and the kids are diving to Larchwood Ia to spend my daughters birthday with her grandparents. they’ll be gone through the week, back next monday. I’ll miss them of course…Phil and I leave for Willow Creek next monday morning. Basically, I won’t see my family for over a week. Sad.

I love Sufjan Stevens. Currently, the song is “Come On! Feel the Illinoise! Part I: The World’s Columbian Exposition Part II: Carl Sandburg Visits Me In A Dream”. I love the part of the song just before the lines:

“I cried myself to sleep last night
And the ghost of Carl, he approached my window
I was hypnotized, I was asked
To improvise
On the attitude, the regret
Of a thousand centuries of death”

It is just put together so well.

The reading today was from John 17, and i have most likely referenced this before.

What did this passage mean to those who heard it? What is the main point?

John was telling His readers what he saw during his time with Jesus. Jesus is praying before He was taken to Pilate. Here, He is owning up to his ministry and His gospel; He testifies what He has done.

What is God saying to me through these words?

That we are to be unified as believers. The relationship between God and Jesus served as our model, now we must follow it. Jesus seeks our glorification as well, He will be lifted up and assume His place in Heaven, and He wants us there with Him.

How should my life change because of these truths? Shoudl I start doing something, or should I stop doing something?

I should seek unity with other believers. I should strive to see no one as my enemy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

