Pharaoh, Pharaoh, whoa whoa, let my people go, HUH!

Currently Listening: Ágætis Byrjun By Sigur Rós

I love hearing new music. I remember the first Pedro I heard, how I could not get enough. I can only urge in the strongest terms possible to seek our Sigur Ros. There are a number of free and legal downloads available to get your feet wet. I have found 28 songs in the last several days. It is truly wonderful music.

About the Undertow Orchestra I was planning on going to tonight, I’ve decided to skip it. After reading a review, and having my wife pray that I would not go (having also read the same review), I have decided to not go. Perhaps if MFP (my friend phil) were driving down, I’d go. I just don’t know what to think about Bazan. I guess I’m frustrated, and need to be careful who and what I lift up as important in my life. Having said that, I love Sigur Ros, and maybe they’ll fill the musical void that PTL held.

The middle-school lock-in went well, I got like 3 hours of sleep. This week is 30-hour famine, so another long weekend, then to Willow Creek with MFP for student ministries conference. Both David Crowder Band and Third Day will be there; I’m looking forward to receiving some spiritual food. Constant lessons, classes, etc is a little taxing.

Exodus 3-

What did the passage mean to those who heard it? What’s the main point?

Like Genesis, Leviticus, Number and Deuteronomy, Exodus is historical narrative; it serves to tell a story. In this case, the story is about God. God speaks to Moses through the burning bush, telling him that he will be God’s spokes-model to Pharaoh. It’s ineresting that Moses, in Exodus 2, felt God’s call to free the Jews, he just wanted to do it his way. And when his way was not God’s way, and he jumped the gun, God sent him to Midian for a 40-year hiatus until he was ready to do it God’s way. And o think the Jews suffered another 40 years of oppression because he moved without God. Crazy.

What is God saying to me through these words?

Do it my way, or wander for 40 years. Even when we do things that God wants done, if He is not in it, He is not in it. All things are done in the timing of God.

How should my life change because of these truths? What should I do? What should I not do?

Last year, my first year seeking a ministry position, I grew very frustrated as I sought out a church. I was in school and doing God’s will. And I was wondering why I did not get into a church right away. I had several interviews, even flew to Oklahoma and Illinois. and nothing came of them, there were issues, and I was ticked off. Had I waited, and just let it be in God’s hands, it would have (and ultimately did) happened His way. Now, I am in the a better church than I could have imagined. The people are great, they are supportive and genuinly care about me and more importantly, they care for my family. Looking at the other places I could have gone, while they would have been nice and God would have used me there, but it would not have been here.
It’s funny, but Moses was happy in Midian. He had a wife and son. He was prosperous. And then God sent him on a mission that completely disrupted his life.

Here’s a strange thought…what if I’m in Midian?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Pharaoh, Pharaoh, whoa whoa, let my people go, HUH!

  1. Handbag Express

    Hello, just browsing around and thought I would peek at your blog also thought it would be a great opportunity to highly recommend both of these sites with spectacular deals. Grand Openings at **www.handbagexpress.com** for the ultmate handbag selections, and don’t miss out on **www.VegasTours.com**for Spectacular Grand Canyon Vacation Tours, you will agree the offers are Super incredible after visiting. Thanks and have a great day.

  2. Hello, just browsing around and thought I would peek at your blog also thought it would be a great opportunity to highly recommend both of these sites with spectacular deals. Grand Openings at **www.handbagexpress.com** for the ultmate handbag selections, and don’t miss out on **www.VegasTours.com**for Spectacular Grand Canyon Vacation Tours, you will agree the offers are Super incredible after visiting. Thanks and have a great day.

  3. Money

    Hi:)

    Your webblog posts are placed togethered in a very well manner… That is why I enjoyed reading your blog.

    Regards,
    make money fast online

  4. Hi:)Your webblog posts are placed togethered in a very well manner… That is why I enjoyed reading your blog.Regards,make money fast online

Leave a Reply

