DONE!

My first draft has been completed! I am currently enrolled at Dallas Christian College through their distance learning program. I have taken online classes since January 2004. My current (and final) class is Biblical Research Seminar 2. I have just finished week 4 of the 7 week class. My paper is an exegetical work on Acts 15:6-21, commonly referred to as “The Jerusalem Council.” Perhaps I will post the completed masterpiece; it will go into the annals of history, no doubt. I 3 short weeks, I’ll be done, and in May I shall “walk” and have my diploma, the sought after BS in Ministry and Leadership. Praise be to God!

Random Ramblings-

As always, it’s about the music. I had planned today to talk about a recent find of mine. I’ll do that another day.

In the interest of journalistic integrity, I should state up front that I know most of the members of Luxury and They Sang as They Slew (TSaTS). I went to college at Toccoa Falls College with most of them from 88-91. As I said, I was going to write about someone else, but this morning I had the song “One Day I Woke Up” (TSaTS) in my head, so I changed my mind.

I cannot listen to only one song on either TSaTS’ “Get Well” or Luxury’s “Health and Sport” without listening to the entire album.

“Get Well”
In no particular order….

“One Day I Woke Up”-reminds me of Pink Floyd, circa “Darkside of The Moon”, a bluesy, classic rock feel. After the bridge, I love the way the music changes, a slice of heaven, a foretaste of the goodness to come.

“Get Well”-redemption, conversion. The intro is great, “Palace Arms” in reverse

“I fumbled into the daylight out of hell
I’m finished trying, I’m done trying, broke the spell
for in the gloom the words rang our like a bell
come on, get well
come on, get well
come on, get well
I got well
I got well
I got well”

“Death in the City”

“but how could one who came to save you
ever leave you or forsake you?…
I don’t want you when I need you, when I need you I don’t
I spooned my soul
I measured it well
despite the words and songs of my youth
I never knew
that one could be so unwhole
this world rots your bones
but there’s one who comes in kindness
won’t you pull off your blinders!
but now you give it away
give it away!”

“Health and Sport”

This is likely the final Luxury album. Released in 2005, it is a summation to a great career.

The 10:44 opus “Shake More Hands, Give More Hugs” begins the album. As one on my youth group kids told me, it has “the longest introduction ever.”

“I have been everywhere the grass is green, I have seen all there is to see”
-tells of a people who have done both, and now, want to “just live, like living should be.” My favorite part of the song is…
“I have heard everry word as it is said and said again
and though they tried to give me sight
all I have seen is artificial light
fluorescent glow, in a lip-synced show with soft eyes”
-Jamey and his brother Lee alternate vocal duties.

“Biography, Autobiography”

-a great upbeat song describing the wedding feast as found in Revelation between Christ and His bride, the church.
-Jamey and his brother trade lyrics and singing, it is quite beautiful.

My favorite thing about this album are the footnotes about each of the songs. They provide insight to the songs and are a great addition to the album.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “DONE!

  1. Meredith

    Are you blogging at both sites now?

    I’ve heard of Luxury and They Sang As They Slew, but I haven’t listened to them.

  2. Are you blogging at both sites now?I’ve heard of Luxury and They Sang As They Slew, but I haven’t listened to them.

  3. John Mulholland

    yeah, i’m just duplicating this at xanga

  4. yeah, i’m just duplicating this at xanga

  5. Anonymous

    I was looking for blogs referring to Dallas and found yours. Great blog! I’m in Dallas and here’s some info about me

  6. I was looking for blogs referring to Dallas and found yours. Great blog! I’m in Dallas and here’s some info about me

Leave a Reply

