January 13

Today, I am tired. Today is kind of dreary in Eastern Iowa. After a few days of 40 degree weather, it is cold, windy, snowy, overcast, and I just feel tired. I feel down. Of course listening to Coldplay is not helping!

“Come on, oh my star is fading
And I see no chance of release
And I know I’m dead on the surface
But I’m screaming underneath”

-Amsterdam

It has been a long, but fruitful week. I have had three things take place this week that made me feel that my ministry was “official”…I had a parent call me with an issue that their family was involved in and they needed prayer for; I visited someone in the hospital last night, and I went to the house of another family to just visit with them. The issues not withstanding, I feel like a “real” youth minister.

I read Praise Habit this morning, Psalm 145. Crowder uses “The Message” paraphrase in his book; for those not familiar with “The Message”, it is basically the Bible in modern language. Sometimes, like today, a phrase from it jumps out at me.

The NIV says verse 16 in this way:

” You open your hand and satisfy the desires of every living thing.”

The Message says

“Generous to a fault, you lavish your favor on all creatures.”

Generous to a fault. Wow. Eugene Peterson (the paraphraser) is not saying God has faults in the way we think of them. He is saying that God is immeasurably gracious and merciful. He allows us to take full advantage of his mercy. He knew the cost, yet went to the cross anyway.

Thanks to Merideth Beck, I bring you the following lyrics from Sufjan Stevens…

“I stole my father’s shoes.
I pulled his pockets too.” – from “”In the Devil’s Territory”

“You gave your body to the lonely.
They took your clothes.
You gave up a wife and family.
You gave your ghost.
To be alone with me.
To be alone with me.
You went up on a tree.
I’ve never met a man who loved me.” – from “To Be Alone with You”

from David Bazan

“Even though you haven’t any answers
Still think that you don’t need anyone
To save you from the mess that you’ve created
And even when I gave my only son
You still said no
You wouldn’t have me.” – from “Diamond Ring

Finally the end of “Amsterdam”…

“Stuck on the end of this ball and chain
And I’m on my way back down again
Stood on a bridge, tied to the noose
Sick to the stomach
You can say what you mean
but it won’t change a sin
I’m sick of the secrets
Stood on the edge
tied to the noose
She came along and she cut me loose
You came along and you cut me loose
You came along and you cut me loose”

Cut loose, indeed.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “January 13

  1. Meredith

    You spelled my name wrong. You make me sad.

    Just kidding…

  2. You spelled my name wrong. You make me sad.Just kidding…

  3. John Mulholland

    At least you did not take issue with my calling you a friend!

  4. At least you did not take issue with my calling you a friend!

  5. sam

    Hey john.. I’m glad you feel official.:-D I tried comanting on your my space. but with using xanga for so long I couldn’t figure it out.. 😦 oh well..
    – sam

  6. sam

    Hey john.. I’m glad you feel official.:-D I tried comanting on your my space. but with using xanga for so long I couldn’t figure it out.. 😦 oh well..- sam

Leave a Reply

